Call for Peitho Editor

Call for Peitho Editor

The Coalition of Women Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition (CWSHRC) is seeking an editor for Peitho, our biannual peer-reviewed online journal, beginning spring 2013.

In supporting the Coalition’s mission as “a learned society composed of women scholars who are committed to research in the history of rhetoric and composition,” Peitho seeks to publish research that advances the feminist study of our profession.

In cooperation with an associate editor (Lisa Mastrangelo will hold this position until 2015), Peitho’s editor has full purview over the editorial content and production process of the journal, including managing the editorial board, issuing calls for papers, refining the journal’s submission process, and publishing the journal. The editor has the support of the Coalition’s Publication Committee and Executive Board for all matters requiring approval.


The ideal candidate will hold a position at an institution willing to contribute support/release time for this position, and she will have a solid publication record in the areas of feminist rhetoric and/or composition history and pedagogy, as well as a significant record of service work relevant to the field. The position also requires outstanding planning, communication, and editorial skills and strong technical/digital skills.


  • Shadow Barb L’Eplanttenier, Peitho’s current editor, through production of the spring 2013 issue and then assume full responsibility for the fall 2013 issue.
  • Serve as editor for four years, from 2013-2017.
  • Manage the submission, editorial, and online publication process for two issues of Peitho per year (Fall and Spring)—with the support of Lisa Mastrangelo, the associate editor.
  • Participate in the search for a new associate editor who will start in 2015 and become editor in 2017.
  • Hire a student intern, if desired.
  • Serve as ex officio (nonvoting) member of the CWSHRC advisory board.


The Coalition will pay for the editor to take a training workshop on InDesign (the publishing program), and the editor may also hire a student intern for 15-20 hours per issue at a total cost of $500 per year. The editor will also receive a stipend of $200 after the successful completion of each issue. Finally, the Coalition will pay the editor’s registration fee for the Feminisms and Rhetorics biennial conference.

Please note that  a letter of support from Coalition president Elizabeth Tasker, detailing how the position can be of benefit to the editor’s home institution, is available upon request.

Applicants should email a CV and cover letter, describing their qualifications and detailing how their institution will support their editorship, to Lindal Buchanan, ljbuchan [at], by Oct. 1, 2012.

Join us!

Join us for the annual Coalition of Women Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition Wednesday evening event at the 2012 CCCCs:

Wednesday, 21 March, 6:30-8:30 pm in Renaissance Hotel, Majestic Ballroom, Salon A/B, Second Floor.

The first part of the session consists of the panel, “Women Reading and Writing Women: Recent Trends in Feminist Scholarship.”


Kristie S. Fleckenstein, Florida State University, “Can You Picture That? Visual Imagery at the Interface”

Sue Hum, University of Texas at San Antonio, “Dance of Bodies, Dance of Words: The Rhetoric of Difference”

Rebecca Richards, St. Olaf College, “The Transnational Turn of Feminist Rhetorics and Composition”

By examining the feminist relationship of the self in scholarship, the three speakers discuss visual, ethnic, and transnational rhetorics in answering the question from the 2012 CCCCs call: “What scholarly and methodological gateways has the field constructed, and do they limit or open up possibilities for inquiry?” These scholars address their professional commitment to these chosen fields, the field’s potential for the discipline, and areas of future research. These women represent advanced, middle, and beginning career moments and a range of institutional locations.

The second part of the session consists of the Coalition’s traditional mentoring groups led by Coalition members and disciplinary leaders such as Nan Johnson, Lynee Gaillet, Krista Ratcliffe, and others. Topics of these mentoring groups include Transforming the Dissertation; Designing Proposals for Fellowships and Grants; Coming Up for Tenure in the 21st Century; Publishing Options and Opportunities; Working in Digital Spaces; and other professional subjects.