#FemRhet2017 Recap: Day 3

By Jennifer Burgess

#Day 3 of #FemRhet2017 started off with another fantastic session of #FemRhetYoga.

At 8 am, morning meetings and a workshop kicked off, offering attendees ample opportunity to engage with the conference theme of rhetorics rights(r)evolutions. Brenda Brueggeman, Jane Detweiler and Patti Wojahn led the Feminist Leadership Workshop (8 am – 11:15 am), while many others led engaging morning meetings around the topic of “Organizing for Activism.” The “Organizing for Activism” were “devoted to envisioning, strategizing, and planning activism that bridges feminist academic work to activist work outside the academy.

A total of 9 meetings/seminars/roundtables were offered during Thursday morning’s 2 morning sessions. You can see the titles of the sessions below:


Following the morning sessions, attendees were treated to a delightful lunch in the UD Marriott’s Grand Ballroom while the winners of the CFSHRC awards were announced. The 5 recipients of the Nan Johnson Outstanding Graduate Student Travel Award as well as the 2 recipients of the Presidents’ Dissertation Award were recognized. Jenn Fishman also presented Kris Blair with the Lisa Ede Mentoring Award.

After the Awards Presentation, Professor Claudia Rankine was introduced and then took the floor. Below is a small collection of the tweets that worked to capture the message and tenor of Prof. Rankine’s phenomenal address during which she charged the attendees in the room to acknowledge the whiteness as it sits in the room (paraphrased).

Following her address, Prof. Rankine graciously gave her time to sign books and talk with conference attendees.

The afternoon offered 3 more rounds of invigorating discussion and collaboration as 35 total sessions/panels/roundtables took place from 1:30 pm – 5:45 pm.

Here is a small collection of the tweets produced during the Friday pm sessions.